Mama Rucci

I Don’t have an inside voice, Please Stop asking me to use it!

Catching the Leprechaun February 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel Ferrucci @ 6:52 pm
Tags: , , , ,

shamrock

When holidays came, We loved creating different traditions to do with the kids. We thought gifts are great but it’s the memories that they’ll remember forever. We probably made a tradition for everything: first snow fall, first leaf we find, Birthday Eve’s, Birthday week, Thanksgiving Eve, first cook-out, beach days, you name it and I’m sure I have a tradition that we do. With St. Patrick’s Day around the corner and my kids being grown, I thought I’d share our St. Patty’s day tradition.

On St. Patrick’s Day (and you don’t need to be Irish for this) we go to a park, our yard, or some place that will be a good hunting ground. The children will need to find the leprechaun. Once they find him, they get to make a wish for something they’d like. The wish will come true and they can only tell one person (mom or dad) what they wished for.

Leprechauns are magical but they still need time to make the wish come true, so the child/children will need to go back to the same exact spot in 2 days (our leprechaun needed 2 days but yours may need a different number of days).

When searching for a leprechaun, if the leprechaun see’s the children and thinks he may be caught, he leaves something else there for the child to catch (a fake leprechaun, candy, etc) and we always knew he left it because there was  Magic Green Dust.

leprechaun

As parents we always saw the leprechaun first so we would help the children, depending on their ages to find him.

The Magic Green Dust looked like the green grass ground covering that you buy where you can get Christmas Village accessories (Department 56, etc). It seemed to be sprinkled in a small area with the item they caught sitting on top of it. Boy, that leprechaun had some imagination not to get caught!

I’m not sure where the leprechaun got the wishes, one year the wish was a goldfish and another year a barbie doll. My husband or I would always go to the spot, right before we were going to check with the children and see if the wish was there (we usually did it in the park). I would then meet him there. He sat waiting in the car making sure nobody came and mistakenly took our wishes.

This is a tradition that the kids loved and the best part was the look on their faces when they spotted the Magic Green Dust! If you’re not clear on how to exactly find the leprechaun, please contact me for more details.

Happy Hunting

 

9 Responses to “Catching the Leprechaun”

  1. Emilie P Says:

    I love this idea. Maybe we’ll have to go out hunting for leprechauns ourselves. Our two year old would love it! I’m thinking the magical dust might look a lot like green glitter….

  2. Emilie- I’m so glad you love this idea! I miss being able to do this with my kids and please let me know how it went and send some pics.

  3. Welcome to the blogging world!

  4. What a great idea! I’m going to have to remember this for when my son is older! I’m going to share this with my sis as my niece and nephew would love it!

  5. joyce Says:

    I love this idea, last year my sons kindergarten teacher did something similar, she even overturned the chairs because she said the leperchaun was going crazy looking for gold and the kids could not believe a little leperchaun (sp?) could do all that, they were in awe all day!

  6. bonggamom Says:

    Hiya Rachel! I found your blog thru Group 5 on the MomDot Launchpad and I’m looking forward to getting to know you and your blog!

  7. Eve Says:

    How cute! I love this idea!

  8. Wow, what a cool idea! Never heard of that and the Hubster’s fam is Irish! Will have to let my DD26 know about it for ‘Lil Moomette, she’ll enjoy this! Thanks for sharing.

  9. AutumH Says:

    I think this would be a wonderful tradition to start with my boys. My oldest has made leprechaun traps these past two years. It’s fun and keeps them occupied and entertained in a healthy way.


Leave a Reply

