Mama Rucci

I Don’t have an inside voice, Please Stop asking me to use it!

Once In A Blue Moon by Eileen Goudge January 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rachel Ferrucci @ 8:19 pm

Did you know Dec 31st was a blue moon? With having a blue moon, I thought it was the perfect time to tell you about a book I read, “Once In A Blue Moon, by Eileen Goudge”. Eileen sent me the book a few months back and I decided I would write a post about it and her. I got to email Eileen back and forth and learned how fascinating she wasr that I asked her if I could do an interview and share it with you.

The Book-


I’m NOT a big reader (or writer) and I really have to like a book in order to finish it. In 2009 there were 3 books I read cover to cover, Once In A Blue Moon being one of them. I started the book and couldn’t put it down,  I didn’t even skim…which I normally do. I needed to know what happened next. It brought out all my emotions- in one chapter I wanted to slap someone, another chapter I was crying, and others I was laughing…out loud! The struggle to reconnect two sisters and clean up messes along the way from past mistakes keeps you cheering for them to succeed. It also shows, you create your own destiny! I only wish there was a sequel or more chapters, however, it was a quick read. This is a great weekend book when you want to curl up on the couch with a glass of wine and shut out the world for 48 hours after a nice warm salt soak!


Meet Eileen-

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A writer, natch!  I wrote my first book when I was 8—a ghost story.
When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I first realized I wanted to become a professional writer when I was standing in line for free surplus food, as a young welfare mom.  I figured I couldn’t do any worse financially, so I had nowhere to go but up.  Plus, I’d always been good at writing & loved to tell stories.
What inspired you to write your first book?

My first adult novel, Garden of Lies, came from a dream I’d had years before.  I had to write a lot of teen novels (I wrote for SWEET VALLEY HIGH) before I could afford the time I needed to spend writing it, but when it was finally published it became a NYT bestseller.  So, you see, some dreams really do come true!
How long does it take you to write a book?

Typically, about a year, but that is with multiples drafts.
What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I get up at 4:00 a.m.  I love working in the dark, when it’s quiet and the phone doesn’t ring.  My creative juices are really flowing.  Then I’m off after lunch, using the rest of the day for busy work.
Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

Inspiration is everywhere.  You just have to look around you.  Any given issue of “People” magazine has at least one article in it that would make a great novel.  I’m lucky/cursed, though, to have had a lot of ups and downs in my life—I have enough stories from my own past to keep me in royalties the rest of my life.
What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

My hobby is baking.  I  find it very relaxing; also, rewarding.   To keep my figure I give most of it away.  Also, my husband has a sweet tooth.  I published a cookbook a few years ago titled SOMETHING WARM FROM THE OVEN: BAKING MEMORIES AND MAKING MEMORIES.
Which of your books is your favorite?

I love them all.  Choosing a favorite is like having a favorite child.  They’re  all a part of me.
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love Michael Chabon’s novels.  Also, T.C. Boyle is a writer who never fails to capture my imagination.   I’m reading a new novel now titled “Shelter Me,” by Juliette Fay, that I’m really enjoying.
Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write something every day, even if it’s only a journal or blog entry.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank all of you who have supported me through the years.  Those who’ve contacted me always say such lovely things; it’s what gets me through the day.  When you get up at 4 a.m. you need all the boosting you can get!  I think of you all as my extended e-family.

I’d like to Thank Eileen for taking the time out in her busy schedule for us and I hope you all get to read her book. Please come back and let me know what you thought of it.

Feel sexy, feel beautiful, get Touch’d!

 

One Response to “Once In A Blue Moon by Eileen Goudge”

  1. TerriD Says:

    Great post-thanks for sharing. Eileen sounds like a wonderful person and I may need to go get the book for this weekend!


Leave a Reply

